QQ.co.za
home | lost your password? | help
What is QQ? | Find a friend | Tell a friend | QQ Chat | Voice Chat | QQ Mobile
QQ Xtras

Photo album
QQ trivia
Wallpapers
Screensaver
Funstuff

 
Privacy and Security

Privacy | Authorisation | Refusing Strangers | Black List | Message Blocking

QQ has a number of very useful privacy features to make sure you have a hassle-free QQ experience. Please read this section carefully as it will teach you how to manage your privacy when using QQ. Remember, your QQ password is a very important online security measure - so please keep it safe. Click here if you need to change or have forgotten your password.

Privacy

When you first register with QQ, you'll be asked for your email address and optional contact details. Your email address is a required field for lost password retrieval purposes. But you can make sure that your email address and other details are never shared with any other QQ users, or only shared with your select Friends.

Although the setting automatically selects "Public", we recommend that you change this to "Private" if you don't want other users to see your email address and other personal information.

To view or change your Privacy settings for your personal info:

1. Click on the MENU button on your QQ control panel
2. Go to "Personal Setting".
3. Click on the "Contact Info" tab and set your contact info status to the appropriate setting.

Back to top

Authorisation

If you don't want strangers adding you to their Buddy list, activate the Authorisation feature. To do this, click on the QQ Menu button, select "Personal Setting", and then "Security". You will see an Authorisation check box with three options:

1. Anybody can add me.
2. My authorisation required.
3. Nobody can add me.

Select the option that best suits your needs. If you select "My authorisation required", then another user will be forced to send you a message identifying himself, or giving a reason why you should accept him. You can then decide whether or not you would like to start chatting with that person. However, the "Nobody can add me" option is by far the safest one. Remember you can change these settings at any time.

Back to top

Refusing Strangers

You can choose to exclude anyone who is not on your Buddy list from communicating with you. To activate this feature, click on the Menu button on your QQ control panel and select "QQ Preferences Settings". Select the "Block stranger's" message option.

Back to top

Black List

The Black List is a simple way of getting rid of people you no longer want to communicate with. If someone is becoming a pest, simply drag the icon of any Friend into your Black List. You will both be removed from each other's Buddy lists. You can also do this to Strangers.

Back to top

Message Blocking

Finally, you can also selectively block individuals from sending messages to you:

1. Click on the QQ Menu button.
2. Select "QQ Preferences Settings".
3. Select "Buddy Setting".
4. Choose the buddy you want to block from the list, and then select the "Decline to accept any messages from this buddy" option.
5. Click OK.

Back to top

 
privacy & security | copyright qq © 2006