Real-Time Instant Messaging and Chat
Your QQ password is an important security measure. Please keep it safe. This section explains how to retrieve/change your password.

FORGOTTEN YOUR PASSWORD?

CLICK HERE to retrieve your password

The only way to retrieve a lost password is to use the Lost Password function above. You will be asked to enter your QQ Number and the e-mail address you supplied when registering as a QQ Member.

If the e-mail address and the QQ Number matches our records, QQ will automatically forward your password details to that e-mail address. If the match is incorrect, QQ will not send the password. If you used a fake e-mail address, you will obviously not receive your password. There is no other way to retrieve a lost password. The only alternative is to re-register with QQ, but in this case your Friends list will be lost.

If you originally entered a fake e-mail address during registration, but now want to use a true address, you can easily update your details. See Password Changes below (note that your e-mail address will never be shared with other QQ members if you leave the Share Info setting as "Private". See Privacy info on the right.

PASSWORD CHANGES

You can easily change your QQ password, but you must be online to do this. To change your password, click on the QQ Menu button, select Personal Setting and then Security. Enter your current password and than a new password. Enter your new password again and press Modify.

REPORT ABUSE

Please report any abuse (disgusting messages, profanity or harassment) to the QQ abuse team at abuse@qqafrica.com
QQ has a number of very useful privacy features to help you have a hassle-free QQ experience. Please read this section carefully as it will teach you how to manage your privacy when using QQ.

REGISTRATION

When you first register with QQ, you will be asked for your e-mail address and optional contact details. Your e-mail address is a required field for lost password retrieval purposes, you can ensure that your e-mail address and other details are never shared with any other QQ user or only shared with your designated Friends.

The default setting is "Public". We recommend that you change this to "Private" if you do not want other users to be able to see your e-mail address and other personal information.

To view or change your Privacy settings for your personal info, click on the QQMENU button, then go to Personal Setting. Click on the Contact Info tab and set your Contact Info status to the appropriate setting.

AUTHORISATION (click to view)

If you don't want strangers adding you to their Friends list, activate the Authorisation feature. To do this, click on the QQ Menu button, select Personal Setting, and then Security. You will see an Authorisation check-box with three options:

* Anybody can add me
* My Authorisation required
* Nobody can add me

Select the option that suits your needs best. If you select My authorisation required, the other user will be forced to send you a message identifying themselves or giving a reason why you should accept them. You can then decide whether or not to accept them. The safest option is obviously the last one. You can change these settings at any time.

REFUSING STRANGERS (click to view)

You can configure QQ to exclude anyone who is not on your Friends List from communicating with you. To activate this feature, click on the QQ Menu button and select QQ Preferences settings. Select the Block stranger's message option.

BLACK LIST (click to view)

The Black list is a simple way of getting rid of people you no longer want to communicate with. If someone is becoming a pain or a pest, simply drag the icon of any Friend into your Black list. You will both be removed from each other's Black lists. You can also do this to Strangers.

MESSAGE BLOCKING (click to view)

Finally, you can also selectively block individuals from sending messages to you. Click on the QQ Menu button, select QQ Preferences Settings, then Buddy Setting. Choose the buddy you want to block from the list, and then check the Decline to accept any messages from this buddy option. Then click the OK button.